The winners of the Twelfth Annual JAT Contest for New and Aspiring Japanese<>English Translators have been selected as follows:

Japanese to English Contest
1st place: E30 Kei Simmel (Osaka)
2nd place: E6 Raymond Claghorn (Illinois)
E9 Benjamin Wilson (Aomori)
E10 Kristin Armstrong (California)
E12 Brandi Jones (Kobe)

English to Japanese Contest
1st place: J22 Imamura Eri (Tokyo)
2nd place: J35 Gibo Chieka (Yokohama)
J2 Shinohara Hideyuki (Kumamoto)
J71 Yamashita Kennosuke (Canada)
J89 Nakamura Setsuko (Shiga)

The judges' commentaries will be placed here in early March.

JAT will pay the following for the first place winner:
・Registration for the 27th International Japanese-English Translation Conference (IJET-27).
・Round trip economy travel from the winner’s home to IJET by the most direct route, including air, train, bus and personal vehicle.
・Hotel for three nights standard accommodation at or near the IJET venue.
Receipts are required for all reimbursements.
Travel arrangements and details will be discussed with the winners in advance of purchase.

The second-place winner is entitled to free registration for IJET-27.

All finalists are entitled to one-year complimentary JAT membership.

James Davis (Japanese-to-English Division Chair)
Mayumi Adachi (English-to-Japanese Division Chair)
JAT Contest Committee